Woman of Many Talents

Day 10: Your Favorite Line/s by a Female Third Wheel

First off, I’d like to apologize for being so behind on this 30 Day K-Drama Challenge. When life beckons, it won’t do to disregard its call no matter how much I want to, so I’ve been incredibly busy and my blog has been neglected as a result. Also, the topic for today was really hard for me to come up with an answer for because it’s rare that I come across a female third wheel that I actually like, let alone have a favorite line uttered by them stored away in memory. I racked my brain trying to think of a response when I suddenly remembered how much I loved Hyun Young‘s character Ha Bu Kyeong from one of my favorite dramas of all time, Bad Family.

I’ve included screencaps from a bunch of different scenes that I really loved between Bu Kyeong and Kim Myung Min‘s Oh Dal Gun character, but instead of a favorite line of Bu Kyeong’s, I’m going to have to choose the last conversation Dal Gun and Bu Kyeong have before *spoiler* Dal Gun marries Nam Sang Mi‘s character Kim Yang Ah. Dal Gun tells Bu Kyeong how much he appreciated her unwavering support of him despite his gangster tendencies and gruff exterior, and that he truly cares about her as a friend, stating that it’s her loyalty that made him consider making a female friend for the first time ever in his life. After he says this, Bu Kyeong looks at him with tears swimming in her eyes and says, “I don’t know if I should laugh or cry.” Bu Kyeong has to be one of my favorite female second leads of any k-drama because she sincerely cared about Dal Gun for who he was, and if his relationship with Nam Sang Mi‘s Yang Ah didn’t work out, I would’ve been just as content if he ended up with Bu Kyeong because they were adorable together.

Hyun Young is known for her comedic timing but she exhibited a warmth behind her flighty character that I really loved, and because of Hyun Young‘s talents, Bu Kyeong turned out to be an utterly lovable third wheel who I wished would find her own happiness in the end. I know I’m gushing about the character more than the exchange I chose for this topic, but there’s just so much to say about Bu Kyeong that I couldn’t help myself. Man.. going through a few of the episodes to get screencaps made me want to rewatch Bad Family. If y’all haven’t seen it, please do. It’s a gem of a drama and condenses what family dramas try to do in 50+ episodes into a much shorter, much more pleasant 16 that zip by and leaves you alternating between crying and laughing along with the makeshift family members.

One thought on “Woman of Many Talents

  1. I’m currently watching Bad Family and my favorite character, hands down, Bu Kyung. I love her, so much that I find myself almost wishing that there were an alternate ending.

Leave a Reply

